Though you slay me 

  

though you slay me  … Yet I will praise you  … Though you take from me … I will bless your name…Though you ruin me …Still I will worship … Sing a song to the one who’s all I need…Sing a song to the one who’s all I need. 

I can not tell you how many times I have listened to that song over and over and over again since a dear friend sent it to me. Here is more … 

Though tonight I’m crying out … let this cup pass from me now … You’re still all that I need … You’re enough for me … You’re enough for me. 

God is more then enough for me … More then being able to run everyday … More then having the ability to get in the car and go wherever or buy whatever we “need” or should I say want … He’s more then a fit body or eating healthy … He’s more then the cloudy rainy days when I want to curl up in bed and never come out … He’s more then the tears that out weigh the smiles right now … He’s more …. He’s more. 

I remember the week before, days before even when I got “sick” or whatever this is … thinking how truly great I felt. We had just come back from FL and the kids had just an amazing time and we were all just loved on so fully. We couldn’t wait to go back. I was having good days at work connecting with my patients and coworkers, I felt strong and lean even after only running one day while I was in FL.  I came back to working out with my husband which I love. I had just finished “An altar into the world” by Barbara Brown Taylor which was so so amazing I read it on my kindle then bought the book so I could have that as well. Yeah weird I know but I was just on this I don’t wanna do anything else but love Jesus … My hubby … And my kids! But then the Lord slayed me … I had a great 5 mile run that day in the cold and I had an authentic heart exposing time with a friend that was over due and much needed but then the slaying happened … He broke me down and took away everything I was comfortable with…Everything I was focusing on…everything and instead of me loving on my hubby and my kids and my jesus he is showing me how they can love on me.  He began showing me friends and a community that I didn’t think I had. He is teaching me how to be loved on … How I am loved far beyond I ever imagined, how through this slaying He has a purpose He has a plan. We just need to accept the slaying and continue to “sing a song to the one who’s all I need” 

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=yFDfzyaCbXc

Take a listen … 

One thought on “Though you slay me 

  1. What a witness you are for Him! What an encouragement to me! Your paragraph that starts “God is more than enough for me” is so self-reflective. Sometimes, we put too much confidence in our ability to control things–from how things go at work, to our weight, to how well we watch what we eat, to how our hair looks or our face looks, to how our kids are behaving, to how clean our houses are. We gain confidence in these things and in a way place confidence in OURSELVES. And when these things are in “control” we are at peace. But when we can’t control something, the peace is fleeting because we’ve put our confidence in our ability to control our situations. We need to let God control it all and not put so much trust in ourselves. I’m rambling, but I hope you get what I’m trying to say. I LOVE YOU! Thank you so much for sharing from your heart and putting yourself out there. God be close to you tonight…

    Like

Leave a Reply

