Corinthians 13 …

I’ve been searching my brain all day for the song my grandmother used to sing … Finding words is hard for me lately – foggy brain – is what I think they call it. Anyway … 5 years ago today our family lost gosh I don’t even know what to call her … The glue … The rock … The everything … All that and so much more, that was her. So on top of finding out some discourging news this morning I then remembered this the 5th anniversary of her joining our Jesus!! I remembering the day Layla turned 1 and knowing grandma wasn’t doing well … Praying so hard she would hold off one more day…Jesus will be there tomorrow. Please grandma … And because she is who she is and Jesus is who he is she did.  

 

She did! She even in her last moments of life gave of herself for me … For others. Jesus did. I don’t think I have ever thanked him or her for that.  

 

She is for sure where our Layla Ann got her joy from. Layla is joy and so was grandma. In every way she gave and gave and gave joy … Looked for joy … Radiated joy … Encompassed joy!!! No matter the circumstances, or trials or the journey whether it was her enduring it or if it was someone else it didn’t matter she found joy. And the children … Our children … us … we all knew it.  

 

I’ve looked for bible verses to put in this post … To help explain who she was … What she did … How she spread joy … How she loved us … I can’t. I really can’t. But I did find Corinthians 13.  – ” If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing.

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. For we know in part and we prophesy in part, but when completeness comes, what is in part disappears. When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put the ways of childhood behind me. For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.

And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.”

She was and is love. So today as the journey feels long … The trial feels hard, sometimes I feel like I can’t endure much more, not another hurdle Lord…I stop and remember my grandma and things feel a little less awful. Even while she isn’t with us but is watching over us in heaven she still able to encourage me and she is still able to radiate her love and she is still able to bring me joy. 


Leave a Reply

