Never once … 

Have you all been watching A.D.? I’m usually not into watching that kind of stuff … Kind of stuff being really like history related things, that sounds bad because A.D. Is about the bible obviously. So at first I didn’t watch it, I put up some resistance, that’s where my rock showed up and helped lead me to my rock rock again. So with come convincing I began watching it and it’s been really good, I look forward to it now. It’s not always right on but you know what it does … It leads me to the bible so I can read it for myself, learn it, apply it. Just like the Exodus movie … It wasn’t right on with the bible, it showed the Lord as a child which was kinda creepy but it led me to the bible … So in my eyes mission complession!  🚀

Anyways, last night it began to dive into the story of Saul. Saul who was so determined to drive out Peter and his followers. Grit his teeth determined. He was also a very educated man, so he was smart and determined and ruthless. Someone the Christians began to be afraid of. So this smart, determined, educated, ruthless man was in no way ready to hear anything Peter tried to tell him about Jesus. He just wanted rid of all of them. Now! So as Saul is building steam and recruiting people to help him he is on the road to Damascus to find people who had fled and still followed “the Way” is what the bible says in Acts 9:2. He wanted these “way” people men or women to take them prisoner and the bring them back to Jerusalem to persecute them. But Jesus literally knocked Saul to the ground. Blinding him. Asking him “Saul, Saul, why do you persecute me?” 9:4 and Saul answers “who are you, Lord?” So Saul suspects it’s Jesus but asks, could it really be the one, Lord, the one who he is working so hard to persecute these people for, thus persecute Him? If you continue to read Acts 9 you then see how Saul regains his sight and becomes baptized by the Holy Spirt, he regains his strength, and he immediately  begins preaching that Jesus is the Son of God. The people couldn’t believe it … “Isn’t he the man who raised havoc in Jerusalem amount those who call on this name? Me hsnt he come here to take them prisoners to the chief priests?”  9:23 Yet it says that Saul grew more and more powerful baffling the Jews and proving that Jesus IS the Messiah. 

And so when I got up this morning and was reading this it kinda just amazed me, made me tear up even. So Jesus took a man so filled with determination to persecute and eliminate these “Way” people and changed him in such a way that he became one of the most influential apostles of Jesus, writing many of my favorite books of the bible (at that time he was known as Paul). He never once left his side. Jesus took a man so far from Him, leaning so far away from Him, so deceived by the enemy, and the Lord chose him, He never left Sauls side waiting for the perfect time when he is the most apt to listen, to let it sink in, the perfect time for Saul to hear Jesus not only with his ears but his heart, his everything as well. 

It just spoke to my heart and convicted me that no matter how far away from Jesus I feel He is always there waiting for me. No matter how corrupted by the enemy I am, Jesus and the Holy Spirit can bring me back. No matter how weak or low or lost I feel, Jesus can and will show me the way. No matter how many times I feel shame or hurt or broken or alone or confused, Jesus can show me the way back to him, he can break those chains of shame of brokenness just like he broke Sauls chains of deception and hate and persecution. 

There is so much to learn from Saul who becomes Paul. This is just the tip of the mountain. But it brought me hope and a reminder and encouragement and just like a longing to know my Jesus, our Jesus, the one who loves us even when we aren’t loving him, the one who continues to persue us even when we aren’t persuing him, the one who is fighting for us even when we aren’t fighting for him, the one who continues to try to pull us or show us a way back to him even while we live in a world that constantly pulls us away … it just makes me long to know him more … to love him more. He never once left Saul and he will never once leave our side … Never … 

Standing on this mountaintop.                Looking just how far weve come.           Knowing that for every step.                          You were with us

Kneeling on this battle ground
Seeing just how much Youve done
Knowing every victory
Was Your power in us
Scars and struggles on the way
But with joy our hearts can say
Yes, our hearts can say
Never once did we ever walk alone
Never once did You leave us on our own
You are faithful, God, You are faithful
Kneeling on this battle ground
Seeing just how much Youve done
Knowing every victory
Was Your power in us
Scars and struggles on the way
But with joy our hearts can say
Yes, our hearts can say
Never once did we ever walk alone
Never once did You leave us on our own
You are faithful, God, You are faithful
You are faithful, God, You are faithful
Leave a Reply

