Do not lose heart … 

You know … Sometimes this world, this God, our God, our father … Is not fair. That’s what we want to say right … Why would God let this happen, why would God do this? Why would he let this thing happen that he knows hurts me? Why? This hurts. Every single minute of it, hurts. So why Lord, why are you doing this? We are trying, hard? Why can’t you just take this away or make this other thing happen or do what you know I want? 

That’s what we feel right? Those are the questions we throw around in our head right? Those are the questions we torture ourselves with right? This is your chance to shake your head yes or say yes out loud and agree with me … 

Why do we do that? Is it the enemy telling us lies? Do we just want to blame someone? I mean … I don’t get it. I mean, I get it cause I do it but I don’t understand why, because after doing that all day I sit here and am reminded that Our God, Our Father wouldn’t do that to us … Sit back watch us suffer … Watch us cry … Watch us hurt, in pain, on purpose. You know? He isn’t one to just sit back throw his hands up and be like … Let’s see you get out of this one, let me turn up the heat a bit and really see what you will do. I don’t believe that at all. So why do I look to Him, in my hurt, in my pain, through the tears and question why? And ask … Really God? 

He knows our paths and wants to prosper us …  “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11. He only wants what’s best for us … “And this same God who takes care of me will supply your needs from His glorious riches, which have been given to us in Christ Jesus.” Phillipians 4:19. He didn’t send Jesus, while we were sinners, His only son to die a gruesome awful death on a cross, just to watch us suffer. He loves us. He doesn’t want to see us suffer. “He is our strength in time of trouble.” Psalm 37:39 but we have to let Him. While we are in this, this time of hurt, this time of pain, this time of questions…  He is already helping, he is already working in it and solving it, he is in it, around it and going through it with us. “We can do ALL things through Christ who gives us strength.” Phillipians 4:13. 

It’s hard not to question the Lord when we hurt, when things aren’t working out the way we think they should. It’s real hard. But if we go back and read his promises it helps, even if it’s just a little it will help. And we remember and praise God for grace in those times of weakness. I am living in the weakness right now but you know what Jesus said “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” 2 Corinthians 12:9 Thank God for his grace … His presence… His provision … His promises … His devotion to me (and to you) to never give up on me even though I am giving up on Him. He keeps working … Keeps whispering … Keeps preparing the way for me. 

Last thing … Promise …  I was reminded of the though you slay me song by Shane and Shane … It’s been on repeat lately but I wanted to write out the john piper part for you … Because, well because, it’s that good, it’s needed that much. .. “Not only is all your affliction momentary, not only is all your affliction light in comparison to eternity and the glory there. But all of it is totally meaningful. Every millisecond of your pain, from the fallen nature or fallen man, every millisecond of your misery in the path of obedience is producing a peculiar glory you will get because of that.

I don’t care if it was cancer or criticism. I don’t care if it was slander or sickness. It wasn’t meaningless. It’s doing something! It’s not meaningless. Of course you can’t see what it’s doing. Don’t look to what is seen.
When your mom dies, when your kid dies, when you’ve got cancer at 40, when a car careens into the sidewalk and takes her out, don’t say, “That’s meaningless!” It’s not. It’s working for you an eternal weight of glory.
Therefore, therefore, do not lose heart. But take these truths and day by day focus on them. Preach them to yourself every morning. Get alone with God and preach his word into your mind until your heart sings with confidence that you are new and cared for.”
Do not lose heart my friends … ” Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.” 2 Corinthians 4:16-18 

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30 

Leave a Reply

