for the love … 

I got a new book yesterday!!!! I’ve been anticipating this book since about may or June, when I first heard it was coming out. And it’s finally here. Yay!!!!! “For the Love, Fighting for Grace in a World of Impossible Standards” by Jen Hatmaker 

 
I have been reading and am currently in the middle of Everyday Grace: Infusing All Your Relationships With the Love of Jesus and although it’s really good, it’s really heavy, in a good makes you think kind of way. It has a lot of scripture in it which I like and leads me to look up the verse myself so it’s just not a book I’ve flown through. It’s like a book to read when you have quiet time. I’m hoping that “for the love” by Jen Hatmaker is a light breathe of fresh air. 

I have been a fan of hers for a while now, though I haven’t read any of her other books, I do follow her blog and have seen some of her talks which are super funny and always amazingly true and right on. And so in anticipation of this book I’ve been overloading my poor husband on all things Jen Hatmaker. 🙂 she has a video on you tube about “for the love of fashion” : leggings and how they should be worn, it’s funny!!! You need to look it up!! Ok so I had to include the link … Here it is. http://youtu.be/O47HASywXnU

I also found this yesterday … http://youtu.be/etl98WL8aC8 and it kind of just made me think and cry and just want to share it with you, because y’all she is so right! I encourage you to watch it, but I’ll share a little bit of what stuck with me… 

She talks a little bit about the standards us moms and women put on ourselves. Really unrealistic unachieveable standards. Standards that really set us up for failure. We try to go at life being perfect, maximizing every minute of everyday with  to-do lists that are way too long and expectations that aren’t realistic and I can tell you from experience this usually just sets you up to crash and crash hard. When we can begin to accept that we are all just imperfect people living in an imperfect world then it almost enables you to enjoy the little things, to like see your kids faces and actually see them, to hear them the first time they say your name, to engage with them, to take slow deep breathes not rushed shallow ones and to hear the whispers of God. It’s a hard thing to do. To slow down and take the weight and pressure off yourself. We want to be perfect for all our people but sometimes we just can’t. And sometimes when things get hard, our life gets busier or tougher physically, emotionally and or spiritually our instinct isn’t to settle down and feel those hard times or hard emotions, our instinct is to kick it into high gear and avoid all that and almost to do an even better job at life then what we were doing before. We still expect that we will perform well or even perfectly at being a mom, a wife, a daughter, a sister and even a friend. But really we can’t. We are setting ourselves up for failure. What we need to do is slow down and feel and love and know that it will all get done eventually and begging to shine the light on what is more important in our life which is the Lord and our family and throw those unfair standards and expectations out the window. 

She also talks about building your children up to be disciples for the Lord. This is what really hit home for me the most. I’ve heard lots of people say to pray for your kids future job, their future spouse, their kids, and so much more but she talks specifically about praying that they would be close to the Lord. That our real job as parents is to build them up to launch then into the world with the Lord as their passion. That they would understand Him and His beauty and His kingdom and His forgiveness and His sovereignty. And that if they have that then they will be good. And I don’t know. Maybe I am just new at this loving the Lord stuff and in some ways I am, I didn’t get it before, I didn’t realize his power and might and forgiveness and that He is good. I didn’t. I grew up in Catholic and Christian school pre-K through college and had no idea until this year the depth of these things. I didn’t. And so I guess she just helped me realize another way in which I can start praying for my kids, and being more real with myself and a way I can just step back and enjoy my kids, my husband, my Lord, my journey right here right now that I am living. 

Anyways, I’ll bring y’all an update on how the book is, I’m really excited to start it and I’m pretty sure it’s gonna be a good one 🙂 

One last thing…I had to share one last thing with you!!! My favorite picture of the kids from this week!!! They are just so so amazing and I am just so thankful I get to love on them every single day.   

 
•Pursue love• 

Leave a Reply

