Back to the basics … 

 So y’all know I am cray cray about all things All Sons and Daughters right now!! Well if you didn’t now you know. This is one of my favs …  
I listen to the album all the time and this recent album (that I’ve told you about) has just been on repeat. It’s so good. 
I’ve had kinda a quiet week. Just a thinking week really. Been tired a lot and had a lot on my mind and heart for us and for others. Loved ones who are searching for the way in which God is going to lead them next … Friends that are grieving expectations unmet and what that means in their life. Makes me wonder what if at the end of this 12 month mark my expectation of being back to the “me” I am used to what if that expectation goes unmet … What if my MRI shows more white spots … Then what? Friends with loved ones who are sick and long for relief from that … Loved ones with marriages struggling to hold on … And so much more. And I hurt for them. My heart hurts. And I’ve been thinking and praying and this song has just been on my heart all week. It’s Great are you Lord by All Sons and Daughters. It reminds me to get back to the basics of the Lord. That He is life, He is love and nothing else. He breathes breath into our lungs. Because of Him we breath. He is the only one who can bring light to our darkness. Many times I’ve had to stop myself and realize I can do NOTHING without Him. He is that GREAT. That is the reality we live in. Without that we are and have nothing.  

Here is the music video below … 

I wish iPhone had an emoji for a cross. Because part of going back to the basics of loving, believing, trusting, hoping, praising, leaning into the Lord involves the cross. It is where he left it all. Where he layed it all down for us. Where all our sins are forgiven. Where all our expectations that might go unmet all our grieving we may do, all those things can be layed at the foot of the cross because that where Jesus took them all. He took them upon His shoulders and off ours, it’s where he layed His life down so that we could have eternal life. “But God demonstrates his own love for us in this; While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” Romans 5:8  That makes my heart want to cry out … My bones want to sing. Great is the Lord! 

One last thing … Going back to the basics … Going back to the foot of the cross, yeah we talk about it here and we feel good for a little while, we do work and live it but guess what? We live in a fallen corrupted world. And we are sinful people. So it’s no wonder we need reminded. We need to go back to the basics. We need to fall on our knees and repent when we have tried to take on the world by ourself instead of trusting Him. 

At the cross. Begin at the cross where Jesus died to save YOU! Where he gave and gives us life, hope, light, love and so much more. YOU are loved! 

Here are the lyrics to Great are you Lord by All Sons and Daughters!!  

 

Leave a Reply

