thoughts on conforming – ok maybe rambling 

 Just wanted to share something with you that was on my heart and I’ve been trying to pray through. Thought maybe it would hit home for some of you and if not please ignore my rambling 😉 

 Romans 12:1-2  says … “Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God–this is your spiritual act of worship. Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is–his good, pleasing and perfect will.”

Here is the verse again in The Message version : “So here’s what I want you to do, God helping you: Take your everyday, ordinary life—your sleeping, eating, going-to-work, and walking-around life—and place it before God as an offering. Embracing what God does for you is the best thing you can do for him. Don’t become so well-adjusted to your culture that you fit into it without even thinking. Instead, fix your attention on God. You’ll be changed from the inside out. Readily recognize what he wants from you, and quickly respond to it. Unlike the culture around you, always dragging you down to its level of immaturity, God brings the best out of you, develops well-formed maturity in you.” 

Do you know how your friends are … When I say that I mean things likehow they are feeling…happy … Sad … Lonely … How their marriage is … How they feel there are doing as a momma or just as a woman … Do they consider the majority of their days good or bad … How is their walk with the Lord? What can you pray about for them? Are you asking the hard questions to help them but not only you? 

I feel like one of the ways we/I have begun to conform to this world like it says in Romans is by literally letting the world eat away my time and energy. Allowing myself to become so filled up with busy stuff tangibly and mentally that I don’t take the time to engage others, the ones in my home and even the ones I call friends. My mind is so full of stuff …noise … that sometimes I’m not the hearing questions being asked … I’m not looking Hunter or LuLu in the eyes … I’m not being transparent or connecting with Danny, we are just going through the motions of the day … I’m not asking the hard questions of my friends I’m just assuming they are ok and never really digging deep with them. 
Something I feel that aides our inability to connect is social media? Facebook … Twitter … Instagram … Blogs. We rely on these things … These things of this world … to keep us updated on how our friends are doing and also to keep at arms reach the reality that maybe we aren’t as happy as that recently posted picture. Or we see someone post pics from a vacay and they look so fun and perfect and we may get jealous which puts negative thoughts in our head but we also see from what they show us that it was fun so we know that and we never think to ask cause we know from FB or Insta that it went well. 

That’s one of my struggles in wether or not to bring social media back into my life. Is it conforming to this world? But what if I do it differently will it just put more noise in my head, more moments when I am looking for affirmation from the world instead of from the Lord, will it further disconnect me from connections I long for with the ones I love? I want to spread this blog and the way Jesus speaks to me through it and social media is a perfect avenue but what if it gets in the way of what the Lord is showing me? What if I start placing my significance in it instead of the Lord? Is my itching to get back on going to lead to more distraction, more noise? If I ask my hubby to help see that it’s not becoming that will I get defensive when he lovingly tries to speak to me about it? All questions and concerns that swirl around in my head before making the decision to go back on some kind of social media.

So all that to say … I don’t know. I don’t know when or if, I just don’t know. Romans 12:2 keeps ringing in my head and maybe The Lord keeps whispering it to me for a reason. So when I’m back on social media it will help me do it differently, with a pursue love kinda way, a glorifying God kinda way, a not look at me my life and family is perfect kinda way but an honest open kinda way…  Hmmm just maybe.      🐠  wish that was a gold fish like in the picture above … An angel fish will have to do – I think that’s an angel fish, I should know whether or not that’s an angel fish I grew up in FL – geeesh!! 🐠🐠

  

Leave a Reply

