for I know 

writing challenge day #15 – the Lords promises 

  
So this promise has been a promise I have been clinging to since the beginning of college. So for like 15 years. Dang – I’m getting old and you would think it would be easier to believe and trust in this promise that I wouldn’t need to keep coming back to it but that’s not the case at all. 

I held tight to it when I wanted to go away to college and leave home and people told me I could t do it … I held tight to it when nursing school was tough and a teacher told me to rethink nursing … I held it tight when we moved to NC after I graduated…I held it tight when we decided to move back home to FL, when it took us longer then we thought to buy a house, when Hunter was born a 29 week preemie, when he battled sickness for 72 days in the NICU, when I was able to go to work part time after he came home from the hospital, when I was put on bed rest at 22 weeks preggos with Layla, then when we moved to TN … I could go on and on. And even to this day about 5 things have come up this week that have brought me to this verse and challenged my trust in the Lord – I won’t bore you with the details but it’s like gosh I guess I’m not getting the point or doing a very good job of trusting in the Lord and this scripture because I keep getting challenged with it. 

So I’m gonna rest in this verse this weekend, as things are hard, and questions aren’t answered, No matter how many things come up and you just want to scream “give me a break already,” i will rest in Jeremiah 29:11 not because it’s easy … Cause it’s not, but because the Lord is good and without Him and His love and His promises we would have nothing. This whole thing would t be worth it. He makes the pain, the struggles, the trials, the everythings worth it. So rest this weekend in Jeremiah 29:11, repeat it to yourself daily, pray over it and through it and beside it, work hard to believe it … I will be.  

Jeremiah 29:11 – ” For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” 

Leave a Reply

