new creation 

writing challenge day #18 – the Lords promises … 

 
Getting back to praying the Lords promises. We left off with Jeremiah 29:11 “for I know the plans I have for you declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” I felt like I needed to rest in this promise more then a day due to challenges and emotions and disappointments and I guess just life that we were in the middle of at the end of last week. And I was right. 

But then I was sitting in church Sunday and the Lord have me a hint of hope with this verse 2 Corinthians 5:17…

 And I had this like hopeful moment, I mean I know this verse but it hit me harder on Sunday. It was like the Lord brought me this promise to have ammunition against the enemy that is ruling my head right now. No – I don’t have to focus on the hard, the hurt, the brokenness, the depression, the anxiety that I feel. I don’t because I am a new creation in Christ. He made me new, he makes me new every day. We don’t have to rest in the old, the bad, the ugly, the hurt … we don’t because through the Lord we are new. All that other ish is out – gone – no more. And he doesn’t focus on that ugly anymore – he focuses on us – His child. Now it’s easier said then done, sometimes that hurt and broken gets in your bones and relief from is blinded by the lies that swirl around in your head but through prayer – through crying out to God – through love from the ones around us – through the Lords whispers … hints of hope are still out there ready for the opportunity for us to cling to them, to grasp on to them and to never let them go. 

The promise on 2 Corinthians 5:17 says “The old is gone, the new is here!” It even has an exclamation point in the bible – like it’s saying take note here … Get excited here!! 

Friends, we may not always feel excited and hopeful and new. Probably more times then not we feel old and ugly and broken but God sent His only son to die a gruesome death so that we don’t have to have our identity be in anything other then Christ. Our identity isn’t who we are or aren’t or what we suffer from or what trial we are walking through or just walked through our identity is in Christ and Christ alone! I am going to write this everywhere … I have to … I need to … Then I can cling to it and live in it and not forget it this week. And when I do forget it, cause I will, I am a sinful human and we live in a sinful fallen world, I will have the reminder that it’s already been done, the Lord has already paid the price for me to be a child of God, for me to be a new creation! 

 Revelation 21:5

Leave a Reply

