calming our anxious hearts πŸ’›

Something  has shifted in me this last month or so. I’m not sure if it’s the anticipation of the holidays and all that entails or that Danny will be away hunting or new medicine or if it’s just the enemy attacking me after writing about how I am going to trust and not lose sight of the meaning of the holidays. Whatever it is anxiety has become this thing that I feel really strongly. I’ve had some in the past but not like this, this is different. It’s not debilitating or anything but like a counselor once told me … Don’t compare your this to others that … Don’t say yeah but others have it so bad, this is nothing compared to how bad some people have it … All that does is belittle what your going through and what your going through is real wether it’s big in the grand scheme of things or not, it’s real in your life and to you so let’s work through it or talk through it or whatever. 

So I found a couple quotes that have helped bring me back to reality and shift my mind back to my rock rock,the Lord. I wanted to share them with you today. I’ve had whispers telling me to share, so here they are  

 
This kinda of goes back to having a thankful heart, one of gratitude that sees the Lord blessings. I recently just finished One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp and she speaks so much about giving thanks, when we are rooted in “eucharisteo,” rooted in his blessing on us, we become closer to God and we can combat our anxieties with Gods truths and blessings. That He is always and forever blessing us, taking care of us, providing for us…we just need to work to see it. Here is a quote from the book … ” The one thousand presents wake me to the presence of God – but more so, living eucharisteo, living in thanks, had done the far harder work of keeping me awake to Him.” Here is another quote of hers … 

You know it’s easy to read bible verses about anxiety … “do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” Phillipians 4:6-7 and … “Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God so that at the proper time he may exalt you, casting all your anxieties on him, because he cares for you.” 1 Peter 5:6-7 or Proverbs 3:5-6 “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.” It’s easy to read those verses and know your suppose to lean on Him and trust and not fear but how do you tangibly do it? Two things have helped me not beat it but not let it defeat me … 1.prayer and 2.finding deep adoration for our Lord. Starting my day with gratitude and when I’m in an anxious moment or that overall anxious mood I pray and try to find His blessings and bring adoration before Him. It’s hard. It’s scarey. It takes work. Don’t be afraid to ask someone for prayer. Our God is a strong God, He is good, He loves you – me – us more then we will ever know and He will never ever leave us. Even when we feel alone, He is there. Even when we have lost hope, He is there. Even when we don’t have the strength to go on, He is there. He is there. Pray for His whispers, His strength, His mercy and His comfort to help you win this moment of anxiety – it’s too hard and unrealistic I think to pray to beat the whole thing right away … Baby steps … Shining the lantern right in front of your feet so you can just see the next step then the next step then the next … Baby steps. You – We can do it. 

Praying for all of you this Thanksgiving Eve, you are not alone, you are loved! 

One last thing … A friend sent me this song and I instantly fell in love with it … Strong God by Vertical Church Band. It helps me remember that our God is so strong – He is fighting for us – There is none higher, none greater, none stronger – then OUR God!!! 

 

Leave a Reply

