the gospel changes everything … every single thing … 

  

Heard something the other day that I’ve finally put into words sort of well enough to share with y’all. It’s something I heard  while listening to a podcast. It’s the Happy Hour podcast with Jamie Ivey and she was chatting with Jami Nato. Friends it’s a must listen to … I have literally listened to it number times. 

If you go to jamieivey.com/itunes and look for podcast #68 you can find the interview I’m talking about but I wanted to share how something they said that has really impacted me … The whole podcast is great and worthy listening to more then once but something stuck out to me and challenged me and has taken root in my ❤️ that I can’t not share … 

So here it is … 

What if all this … You know all this … All this … This whole thing … This whole whole whole thing … Isn’t about me? It isn’t about me at all … It’s the furthest thing from being about me … Like furthest furthest thing from being about me that all my things in my life aren’t there for me and aren’t about me at all … I’m rambling but you get the point! 

Like church … Church isn’t about me … It isn’t about me hearing my favorite worship songs or that they have a good children’s program or that I am learning from the sermon or that I feel welcome. 

And my job … That isn’t about me … It isn’t about if I like my boss or the people I work with or if I advance in my career. 

My marriage isn’t about me … It isn’t about feeling loved by my hubby or the dates he takes me on or the presents he gives me or that he calls me on his way home or that he texts me throughout the day or that he writes me notes or kisses me good night. 

Me as a mommy … That isn’t about me … It’s isn’t about getting the tasks done or how many kids I have or being a working mommy or a stay at home mommy or a mommy with a lot of patience or an involved in the kids school mommy or that I’m a Pinterest making craft queen mommy. 

And my relationships those aren’t about me either … It’s isn’t about having great friends or if those friends think about me or include me when they have a girls night or go on a special trip or go have coffee it isn’t about what they do for me or how they make me feel. 

I mean I used to literally say to people – my friends – one in particular that I am so so very sorry for saying and want to apologize right now … You know who you are … I used to literally think and say and make a big deal about me and only me … I just want you to think of me … For you to include me sometimes. Why didn’t you think about me wanting to go to that thing … You know I like that thing??

Because isn’t that the exact meaning of the gospel that we say we believe in? That this is not about me, this life is not for me or about me, this life is for and about Christ. 

What can I do today to make this about Christ? 

How can I serve the way Christ served and still serves us? 

How can I love others like Christ loves us? 

How can I show and share this good news of the gospel and of Christ with those around me? 

When the gospel takes root in our life – in our ❤️ that should be and should remain our primary focus … 

What if … What if everyday you wake up and love your hubby and your kids and your friends and your people and yourself, (oh my gosh yourself!!) everyday you wake up and you love them, you love you even and especially when they are unloveable not because they deserve it, not because you owe it to them or because you want them to owe you something some day but simply because God loves you. Because He chose to love you when you were unloveable, He chose to forgive you when you didn’t deserve it, He chose to send His only son to die on the cross for you, for me, for us even when we were denying Him, He chose to not deny us. 

That’s … That’s … I mean that’s the definition of love, the gospel lived out not for my benefit or your benefit but to shine the light on Him, the person who paid the ultimate price in order to save us, to shine the light on Christ. 

And yes it’s hard, and we may and will probably fail more then we will succeed but it doesn’t mean that it’s not worth doing. Christ came to earth because you and I were worth it. The cross shows us that. Let’s show others the God we love and the gospel we believe in and cling to is one worthy of praise, worthy of allowing it to take root in your ❤️ and how with His help “we can do all things through Him who strengthens us.”Phillipians 4:13 

I’ve realized lately friends that it’s like that song that is based on Corinthians 13:1-2  that talks about being bankrupt without love … Here is the scripture it is based off of … “If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing”- I feel like it’s the same with the gospel … If I don’t have that, if I don’t share and embrace and allow the gospel – the good news – to take root in my heart, if I don’t have that truth in my life then I have nothing. 

 
*And I feel like it’s important to say that if you are in an abusive relationship this doesn’t mean you should stay and put yourself in a dangerous situation. Please hear and know that*

 

Leave a Reply

