May booky books … 

I have so much to share with y’all but my hands are tired even thinking about holding my phone up to write a post or to write on a keyboard and my brain fog is just so foggy lately. 

So … I’m gonna try and keep it simple. And give you a quick summary of books I’ve read in May, because truth be told it’s almost June and I before I know it I’ll be sharing the June books with y’all as well. 

I’m also hoping blogging a little with spark a little joy in me and help me get back in the rhythm of it.  

So first up … 

Well let me back track a second and say that May was a thicker, a little weighty book kind of month and so my total was 4 books. But let me assure you they were good and read worthy. Plus we had a little/big man turn 10 in May as well as an angel turn 7 so there’s that too. 🙂 

Ok now first up is …

 I think y’all know how excited I was to read Hope Heals. Ever since hearing about her story then seeing her in person at the IF Gathering in February, she’s truly been an inspiration and I’ve counted down the days till her book was available. It was just as good as I thought it would be and full of wonderful encouragement for those walking through suffering as well as just day to day struggles. I did buy this book so if you want to borrow it let me know, I would happily send it to you. 🙂

Second is … 

This book I read about one day in US today and wanted it but honestly it’s like $20 + money’s as Layla would say and that’s just too much. So I reserved it from the library and had to wait quite a while but I finally got it and it was worth it. It’s about a physician who finds out in his 30s that he lung CA and begins the battle of his life as well as really diving into the healthcare professional/patient relationship. One day he is an up and coming neurosurgeon treating the dying and the next day he is struggling to live. It’s a little bit of a tear jerker and gut punch but it’s worth it. 

Third was … 

This book man it’s a big-in. But it was good. And I really went through it fast. I’m not quite sure how to describe it to you so look it up k?? Basically it’s about a girl who in the 1960s becomes a social worker and learns of North Carolinas Eugenics Sterilization Program. She loves her job and working even though he husband hates her job and hates her working and she begins pushing the boundaries of her job and the families she oversees and ends up having to make some bold decisions. It’s good. A good novel and story and is crazy to think of the program they used to have in place. 

Lastly … 

I saw this movie a long time ago and then saw an interview with Elizabeth Gilbert on GMA and decided I wanted to read the book. It took me a long time to get through it. Not because it was bad it was just a big book I guess. I really enjoyed reading it but was regretfully thankful when it was over so I could move on to another book 😉 

So there you have it, my four reads for the month of May. I hope to have more posts for y’all soon. I’m really gonna try…hard. 
I also got this the other day I thought I’d share incase you needed a little encouragement. 

Cause y’all I need lots of reminding to trust and to let go and to lean in and to not lose faith and to surround myself with the good and to be present in the now, the what I have and not what I thought I would have or what I would want but to just rest and trust in Him and Him alone. 

Leave a Reply

