books … books … and more books 

Ok y’all I’m waaaaaayyy behind on giving you my books reads for the month. Like 2 months behind. I’ll tell you why in a little bit … But until then hold on and stay with me and I’ll give you some good books to read and even one I wasn’t a fan of a few pages in and even stopped reading 😱

First up is June books…

I read a total of 6 books … Yeah I, that’s a lot but these four weren’t too big and were really interesting so I read them pretty fast. 

The books are written by Francine Rivers. I’ve read unveiling love by her which I loved and loved these mini books of hers as well. Each book is a historical fiction novella written about different women of the bible … Tamar, Rahab, Ruth and Bathsheba. Which means they are biblically based but she elaborates in certain areas that may not have been super specific. I would totally recommend these books to anyone. They were quick easy reads and enables me to learn more about these women and their story in the bible. She also had bible study discussion questions to help you dig deeper as well. I found them at our library (one of my new happy places).  🙂 

Oh … Before I move on from these please ignore my naked nail picture shown above 😉 

Book #5 … Another library find. 


I found out about this book from watching Oprah where are they now. She had a special on Robin Roberts and I caught only a few minutes of it but she said something about making “your mess your message.” And I was like yes … Yes … yes yes yes yes!!! Yesssssssssss!!! I mean 🙌🏻 .  I need this somewhere written down so I can see it all the time. 

Her book did not disappoint. Robin is definitely a warrior has fought hard and well. It was even interesting to see a little glimpse into the GMA world. If you like GMA and Robin and a good powerful uplifting memoir this is a good read!! 

Last but definitely not least … 

I had been anticipating this book all summer and it definitely did not disappoint. It’s just like a really good warm encouraging hug “because women need each other.” It’s a funny, cute, warm book on building relationships and friendships across generations. I can’t say enough about this book. It has a lot of scripture in it and really opens your eyes to the relationships on our life’s. 

One of my favorite quotes from the book is … “All too often in our relationships we content ourselves with the superficial and miss the significant.” Gosh that really just made me think and pray about the way I approach the relationships in my life even in my life now when I feel like I’m not able to do much with others and when I feel alone a lot. It challenges me to keep going and engaging and putting myself out there because God even when we think He isn’t, is blessing us through people and relationships past present and future. 

I did buy this book so if you want to borrow it let me know, it won’t disappoint. 

Ok next is July books … Just a few for the month of July. 

I forgot to take a picture of this one but here it is. This was the last of the lineage of grace series and it was the most scandalous of the stories. The story of Bathsheba. It was like a modern day soap opera vs real housewives ish but with Gods grace and redemptive glory shining through at the end. I picked this one up from the library. 

Book 2&3 were … 

Girl interrupted was a quick read written by Susanna Kaysen and depicted the two years she spent in a psychiatric hospital. It was really eye opening and kinda heart breaking at the same time. I just happen to stumble upon it when I was at the library. I heard there is a movie on it but I haven’t seen it and really I’m not sure if I will. 

The life we bury was a page turning thriller. It did have quite a bit of foul language in it, which isn’t something i  usually read but it was sporadic so it wasn’t too bad. It’s about a war veteran named Carl, who was convicted of murder and spent the majority of his life in prison but was paroled to a nursing home when he was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer and left with a few months to live. A college student named Joe decides to write a biography on his life and while dealing with a dysfunctional alcoholic mother and a severely autistic brother, he uncovers that Carl’s story may not have been as clear as they thought. 

It’s not a typical read for me but I did enjoy being engulfed in the suspense of this story. I also got it from the library -yep just saving my hubby all kind of money right here 🙂 – so unfortunately I don’t have it available to let you borrow it. 😦 

The book I started but decided not to finish was … 

I’ve never read an Elin Hilderbrand book before but I’ve only heard great things about them. She has written a ton. So I decided to put one on hold at the library and try it out. 

I got about 50 pages in or so and had to stop reading it. One of the story lines was going down the path of a married woman lusting after and developing an emotional relationship with her gardner and to be completely honest, I just really don’t like movies or books or anything that explores the topic of infidelity. 

Marriage is so sacred to Danny and I and we really believe that if you read or listen or watch something long enough you allow the enemy the ability to creep in to your life and to your mind it can affect your beliefs and thoughts in turn your actions. We made a promise to each other to steer clear of those kinds of things and that topic specifically not cause we are better then anyone but because we realize what broken sinful people we are and we want to do everything we can to put our “armor of God” and protect our marriage. 

So shew, ok so those are the books I’ve read the last couple months. I know I said I would give you a little health update but I think I’ll wait and post something later or tomorrow on that. So hold on just a little bit longer for me. 

I will say this though … God is good and has blessed me with an amazing hubby and kids and family and friends and I’m fighting and I’m gonna keep fighting and no it’s not all rah rah ree all the time but we are taking it one day at a time, to trying to keep fighting, to find some fun even when it’s hard and to keep praising Him even in our mess. 

Oh and if you like any of the jams that you saw on my nails in the pictures and you want some nail happiness for yourself let me know. 😍

Leave a Reply

