clear as mud …

I’ve been quiet … pretty quiet lately. Not just on here but in life and this morning as I spent some quiet time with the Lord I think I figured out why. 

Which as I write that we really don’t need a reason y’all. It’s ok to be quiet. Even though the world says we should be busy and loud and extroverted and into all of these things, that’s not that really true. Quiet is good. Quiet is needed. Quiet is perfectly ok so don’t run from it…embrace it. 🙂 

Getting back to the point. 

So as the kids played LEGO/princess adventure outside my room … and I took advantage of them being entertained for a moment and not wanting breakfast yet I decided to spend some intentional quiet time. Really it was about 10 minutes but it was enough to reveal something to me. 

Do you know the saying “clear as mud?” 

Well I never did until we lived in TN. People would be explaining something to me, usually at work and someone would follow up this long instruction session with the question … “clear as mud right?” 

Obviously it’s not. Nothing is clear in the mud. It’s messy and thick and dark and dirty and filled with stuff we can’t identify or don’t even realize is in there. No one wants to be stuck in the mud. We run from it, jump over it if we can and avoid it at all costs because sometimes even if we think it’s one thing its not and we get inevitably stuck in it. 

So what I realized this morning is that not only is this world we live in messy and broken, its clear as mud. 

There is so much going on in this world we live in y’all. It seems to be clear but y’all really it’s so muddy and thick and sometimes we have to take a time out. I had to take a time out. 

So many things are going on I didn’t even know where to start with my mind or my words or my feelings. And honestly I still don’t. I just don’t. 

But when I remembered that saying … it’s clear as mud, it helped me to realize I don’t have to. I don’t have to understand what’s going on or have a stance or be able to explain why or what’s going on or how I feel about it. I can just lean on the Lord. Lean into Him. Not lean on myself to have the answers. But lean into Him and the Holy Spirit and ask for guidance and help and begin to just walk through all this mud with Him and not alone. 

So yeah clear as mud right? 😉 

Praying for guidance for y’all that we can but our armor on and we can walk along side of the one who is our rock and our redeemer, our strength, an ever present help in times when we need it most. 

“God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble.” Psalm 46:1

“Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powersof this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. Ephesians 6:11-12

2 thoughts on “clear as mud …

  1. Andrea,
    I asked Lauren Keister about you because I saw you have been gone from Facebook for a while and she told me about your blog. I started reading it and my heart broke for you and your family, I cried for your small victories of running, and have been so inspired by your strength and love for your “rock rock.” I was reading my devotion this morning and it referred to Jesus as our rock in 1Corinthians 10:4 and it reminded me as you mention in your blog multiple times that it isn’t coincidence it’s Him that He puts things together even when we make it a “hot mess.” I remember this as I read last night and through the morning your blog about Jesus as your “rock rock” and Danny as your “rock” and then my devotion that Jesus is telling me and reminding me He is my rock and I can and am to lean on Him. Thank you so much for your inspiration and witness. I am adding you, your family, and your health team to my prayer journal for healing, answers, and comfort. Happy Thanksgiving!
    Dawn

    Like

    1. Thank you so much Dawn. I’m so thankful Lauren led you here so we could reconnect a little bit. And I’m especially thankful for your prayers it’s been a long long road and it’s been messy but the Lord is faithful and good and even when it’s hard to see that or remember I’m thankful for His grace and persistence in pursuit of me. 💕 hope your doing well. Hugs!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

